Whether or not you can drive after a DUI conviction depends upon the criteria specific to your conviction, and may vary from case to case. Penalties for a DUI in Tennessee are heavy. After a DUI conviction, you will likely face driver’s license suspension and additional criminal charges. Read below to see what criteria your DUI conviction falls under.
Potential Court Requirements
- 1st offense: Driver’s license suspension or revocation for up to 1 year.
- 2nd offense: Driver’s license suspension or revocation for up to 2 years.
- 3rd offense: Mandatory forfeiture of your vehicle, and you will no longer be eligible for a restricted license. Additionally, your license may be suspended or revoked for up to 6 years.
- 4th offense: Not only will you be charged with a Class E felony, but you will also face 1 year in jail, mandatory vehicle forfeiture, and driver’s license suspension/revocation for up to 8 years.
Underage DUI Requirements
If you’re under the age of 21, any trace of alcohol can result in a DWI charge, even if your BAC is under the legal limit. In addition to fines and court-ordered community service, your license may be suspended or revoked for 1 year.
Ignition Interlock Device
A vehicle ignition interlock device ensures that a driver with a blood alcohol concentration over the legal limit cannot start their vehicle. An approved provider must install this device. If you are convicted of a DUI 2 times in 5 years, it is required that you pay for an ignition interlock device and keep it in your vehicle for 6 months after you reinstate your Tennessee driver's license. Installation costs include:
- Installation fee: Maximum of $150
- Leasing, maintenance, and/or monitoring fee: Maximum $100 per month
- Removal fee: Maximum of $75
Reinstating Your License
After satisfying the conditions of your suspension/revocation, you will need to reinstate your license with the Tennessee Department of Safety. Reinstatement requirements vary depending on the circumstances of your DUI. Typical requirements include:
- Completing a drug and alcohol treatment and education program
- Driver's license application fees and tests
- Providing proof of car insurance with an SR-22
- Department of Safety fees may include a $100 reinstatement fee, $3 certification fee, $50 SR22 insurance filing fee, and a $75 fee if you fail to surrender your driver’s license at the time of revocation/suspension
Have you been arrested for a DUI? Hiring an attorney early on will better help your chances of preserving your right to drive. Once a conviction has been made, the penalties stand. However, if you have an attorney like the Law Offices of Stephen R. Leffler, P.C. fighting on your side, you have a better chance at keeping your driver’s license or even getting your charges reduced.Contact one of our Memphis DUI defense lawyers today.